Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Science, Math, and Philosophy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-04-2006, 12:22 AM

Default The Religious \"Wrong\"

First off, I'd like to join with most of you in showing your extreme disdain against the conservative right. That said, I am a youth pastor at a Christian church in Nebraska and am also an online poker player.
Whether you believe the Bible to be truth or not is your decision, but a lot of the ammo of the conservative right is based scripturally, or so they think. I have searched and analyzed the Bible over and over in regards to poker and what it says about this "evil". I have not found anything that makes me second guess what I'm doing. Therefore, I believe the conservatives to be plain wrong. Would love to hear your thoughts.
Old 10-04-2006, 12:25 AM

Default Re: The Religious \"Wrong\"

Wrong forum, try in Science, Math, Philosophy or Politics.
Old 10-04-2006, 12:29 AM

I agree, sending to Politics...
Old 10-04-2006, 01:18 AM

I also consider myself a Christian poker player and know many people at my church that also play poker seriously.

From what I understand, Frist is trying to appease the extreme right wing "bible thumpers" who it sounds like have been pretty disappointed in the Republicans promises so far.

http://www.capitolhillblue.com/conte...d_the_bib.html

Not sure if this bill is directly in response to their requests, but it sounds like they are disappointed there were no efforts to identify and help out gamblers who are out of control.

Spidey74
Old 10-04-2006, 01:57 AM

lol christianity
Old 10-04-2006, 02:00 AM

I also am a Christian who plays poker, and my church is Southern Baptist.