Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Legislation
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-01-2006, 10:21 PM

Default THIS PIECE OF LEGISLATION WONT WORK...PERIOD

I'm a lawyer in the UK and find this situation completely laughable. It seems to me that there is no need for panic as the US law as it is written does not seem to be capable to achieving its goal (to ban internet gambling). Lets look at it in more detail:

Frisk himself said
<font color="green">
"The bottom line is simple: Internet gambling is illegal. Although we can't monitor every online gambler or regulate offshore gambling, we can police the financial institutions that disregard our laws".
<font color="black">
Ok - lets examine this statement and the law in USA. Frisk is refering to the Wire Act 1961 when he says "internet gambling is illegal". However, The Wire Act DOES NOT MAKE INTERNET GAMBLING ILLEGAL. The Wire Act refers to penalties unpon betting <u>businesses</u> that operate within the USA.
<font color="blue">
EXTRACT FROM WIRE ACT
"Whoever being <u>engaged in the business</u> of betting or wagering knowingly uses a wire communication facility for the transmission in interstate or foreign commerce of bets or wagers or information assisting in the placing of bets or wagers on any sporting event or contest, or for the transmission of a wire communication which entitles the recipient to receive money or credit as a result of bets or wagers, or for information assisting in the placing of bets or wagers, shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than two years, or both"

<font color="black">
So the Wire Act makes it illegal to run an Internet betting operation in the USA but it DOES NOT PROHIBIT any free citizen from making bets or gaming on the internet with foreign based betting companies.