Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Micro Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-26-2006, 10:22 AM

Default AK TP on dry board - 4 callers preflop!

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em, $ BB (6 handed) internettexasholdem.com

Button ($16.65)
SB ($45.86)
BB ($34.25)
Hero ($25.85)
MP ($58.90)
CO ($36.05)

No reads on villain, i'm very new to the table.

Preflop: Hero is UTG with K[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], A[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]. SB posts a blind of $0.10.
<font color="#CC3333">Hero raises to $1.25</font>, MP calls $1.25, CO calls $1.25, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, SB (poster) calls $1.15, BB calls $1.

Flop: ($6.25) 3[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img], 6[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="#CC3333">BB bets $5.95</font>, Hero calls $24.60 (All-In), MP folds, CO folds, SB folds, BB calls $18.65.

Turn: ($55.45) 9[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players, 1 all-in)</font>

River: ($55.45) 2[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players, 1 all-in)</font>

Final Pot: $55.45

My confusion here is this: With this many callers preflop, the pot gets bloated very quickly.

If I just call here, the pot becomes $18, and i'm pretty much committed. Any decent sized raise commits me.

Is there any other play than a push here? I feel like I'm WA/WB with the BB who leads into me for $6, but I don't really want the other 3 getting in the pot and sucking out either.
Old 09-26-2006, 10:45 AM

Default Re: AK TP on dry board - 4 callers preflop!

I agree, I think this is a push/fold situation. I don't see your opponent doing this with a great hand unless he's a decent player (which he could be, judging from the stack size and the bet-size). So here's my break up for the hand: