Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Medium Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-24-2006, 07:43 PM

Default 5/10 Two-pair facing river shove

I'm pretty new to the table, and these aren't familiar faces.
I will sometimes put in a raise on an earlier street but for whatever reason I decided to take this line this time.

Folded to button who minraises.
SB calls, and I call in BB with ATo.

Flop AT2 rainbow, pot $60.
SB leads $55, I call, button folds.

Turn AT2 (4) still rainbow, pot $170.
SB leads $155, I call.

River AT24 (K), pot $480.
SB goes all-in with his $4k stack, I have $800 to call.
Old 09-24-2006, 08:53 PM

Default Re: 5/10 Two-pair facing river shove

stop calling the flop and the turn? Cuz there is no way to know what he has on the river... probably a fold cuz its either air or a hand that beats you
Old 09-24-2006, 09:25 PM

Call.
Old 09-25-2006, 05:01 AM

def raise turn. if he pushes over that you may consider laying it down. flop call is fine if you want the raiser sticking around.

river is more thin, but you've definitely underrepped your hand... on the other hand, you're either crushed or he's on a complete steal. on this board, I lean towards crushed.
Old 09-25-2006, 05:27 AM

Calling the flop is okay because the PFRer is still to act and you donīt want to tell him too early that AK etc is probably no good.
He folds and SB still bets into you on the turn. I think itīs an easy raise here. You want to get more out of A2, A4, AK and you wonīt get much more out of other hands anyways.
He may have a set, itīs not even unlikely because he would probably reraise Preflop with an Ace and may call with a PP but you donīt know him so it could be a lot of hands.
By raising you also know much better where you are. You could easily have a set with that line so I donīt think heīll reraise you with a weaker hand.