Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-22-2006, 11:00 AM

Default Qualities of a winning SSSH player

I'm new to the 2+2 forums and I have to say I find the amount of discussion and information on here fantastic.

My favourite game is 6 max limit hold'em, mostly 50c/$1 and sometimes $1/$2. I started about 2 years ago online and initially I was terrible, I lost any money I deposited in a matter of minutes. Then I cracked a few books and watched a fair bit on TV, tightened up my game and now I can more or less hold my own.

I'd like to say that my knowledge of poker must be above average, though I still lose more often than I win. I'm not bitter about this, this has simply increased my hunger to learn more about the game.

So anyway my question is this, would anyone care to put forward a few essential qualities that the successful SSSH possesses?

For example, I get the impression that those who earn most from SSSH limit hold'em are aggressive and willing to enter a lot of pots, but (somehow) know when to pull the plug on a hand. However, I may be wrong and it may be the tight conservative players who just wait for their moment to strike who extract the most money from these games.

By the way, I'm talking about online poker and not live.

I'm looking forward to any help anyone can offer.
Old 09-22-2006, 11:30 AM

Default Re: Qualities of a winning SSSH player

[ QUOTE ]
For example, I get the impression that those who earn most from SSSH limit hold'em are aggressive and willing to enter a lot of pots, but (somehow) know when to pull the plug on a hand.

[/ QUOTE ]