Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Shorthanded
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-06-2006, 01:45 PM

Default Why do you play limit? (future of the game)

First off, I hope no one will take offense to this post. Bear with me, I'm new around here...

So I'm relatively new to the poker world, been playing off and on for awhile now but never seriously. Went through the whole deposit, run hot, lose it all, reload cycle quite a few times. I've been playing both NL and limit for the last month, having relatively good success at both the last few months(but I'm playing the small tables - 25NL and 1/2 limit). During this time, I've found myself more attracted to limit poker than NL. Something about it I just like. Maybe it's the math, the strategy...whereas NL seems to be more about the bravado. But NL seems to be sooooo much more profitable, is this accurate or just my imagination?

What I'm saying is, looking at the number of players/tables on all the major sites, combined with higher rake(and no rakeback) on many popular sites, I can't help but wonder if I'm trying to learn a game with a limited(no pun intended) future. Just last night I went onto Full Tilt, UB, Paradise, Absolute and WPEX and there were four to five times the number of equivalent NL tables to limit ones. Sure PP and Stars have a bunch, but no rakeback really kills them in my opinion(more on PP than on Stars).

Also, I see posts where people are extremely happy to make 1.5 bb/100 hands at 2/4, 3/6, 5/10. Not that there's anything wrong with that: winning is winning. But I can't help but wonder: is this as good as it gets and will the numbers keep dropping? Now I play poker because I enjoy it, but I'm also playing for money because that's how we keep score. And although I really like limit, I don't want to invest 250k hands for the next year only to be making .25bb/100 this time next year.