Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-05-2006, 04:14 PM

Default One typical player\'s progress (very, very long, boring)

Recently, I have noticed a couple of beginners asking questions in the general form of "How long does it typically it take to become a winning player?" or "How much do I need to expect losing while learning poker?"
While the only and correct answer is that it depends on the player him/herself, I would like to give you guys an example: me.

Since I have started playing almost exactly 6 months ago, and it's been about 5 months since I've joined 2+2, I thought it might be fitting to give this example as a "thank you" to 2+2 for how it has helped me to get to where I am.

Be warned: This article is addressed at the absolute beginners. If you've got the couple of thousand hands under your belt, you most likely will find it very boring.

First off about me: I'm a pretty normal guy, I'm fairly smart, but no where near exceptionally intelligent. I do have a rather good mathematical background, due to my studies in Computer Science. But as I've said, nothing out of the ordinary.

I always thought poker was a typical gambling game, meaning no matter what you do, in the long run the house will take your money. So, I never gave it a second thought and never played it.
This changed when I started to work for my former employer, a bookmaker who is also running a poker site. My job was to test the software and make sure that everything is going alright.
During the first weeks I had hardly anything to do, so I came across a few of their poker articles. Since I had nothing better to do, I just read them all. This is when I realized that poker is not a pure gambling game and that by studying the game and improving your skill you could actually beat the game.