Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Internet Gambling > Software
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-29-2006, 03:21 AM

Default How do these programs read the board?

Hello,

I was wondering how programs like Calculatem Pro, Poker Indicator, ... are able to read the table (pocket cards, flop/turn/river cards, which players are still in the hand, pot size, etc.). I can image two options:

- analysis of network packets: this seems very difficult, since the connection is encrypted;
- screen capturing/analysis: this seems also very difficult to do.

Do you guys have an idea? Is there a library somewhere which is able to read the table?

Thanks a lot all.

PS: I'm a software developer, so I don't mind tech talk [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Old 08-29-2006, 02:34 PM

Default Re: How do these programs read the board?

Most of them use screen capturing. It's actually quite simple using an euclidean distance algorithm along with a threshold for doing a pixel by pixel comparison of two images. If the images are >96% the same then its a match.

You can detect flop, hole cards, turn, river, betting, pot size etc..

The hardest part is reading the text. For this you need to have some type of OCR algorithm to get the screen names, stack sizes, bet amounts etc... OR you can do what I did and read this type of information from the textbox that tells you what is happening, or by poking through the poker softwares memory.

So basically I have combined hand history text scraping with screen scraping to create a holdem odds calc among other things.

Oh and I used a combination of c++ and c# to code all my stuff. I have a c++ app that does the memory reading stuff and then sends the info cross-process to my c# app for processing.

Cheers
Old 08-29-2006, 02:38 PM

Man you definately did that the hard way.
Old 08-29-2006, 02:45 PM

[ QUOTE ]