Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Other Gambling Games
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-18-2006, 03:04 AM

Default Backgammon book?

Paul Margils book? I have heard it is considered the bible of backgammon...kinda like supersystem to poker.

Specfically I want to learn more about doubling. If anyone could suggest a good book or even off their advice about doubling it would be much appreciated.

I recently bought Bill Roberties book and wasnt terribly impressed. He gave three match examples and the first two where stupid. The thrid was decent and provided a good glance into the thought process of playing 'dynamic' backgammon as he refers to it. He advocated the aggressive go for it style. As a super beginner I obviously thought this was insane at first but I have been messing around playing super small stakes and it appears to actually to be very effective.

Any advice would be appreciated! thanks
Old 08-18-2006, 05:30 AM

Default Re: Backgammon book?

There have been some past discussions on these forums of backgammon books, but you should look at the archives of rec.games.backgammon.

The book by Robertie you encountered was either Backgammon for Winners or Backgammon for Serious Players. Those are aimed at novices, and are more suitable for beginners than Magriel's Backgammon. Perhaps you didn't like it because you are not in the target audience. Robertie's more advanced books are excellent, and it would be a mistake to avoid his other books.

There are some books which emphasize the doubling cube. Kit Woolsey's Backgammon Encyclopedia (Volume 1) has some useful reference positions. Kit Woolsey has also written a booklet on match play which has some very useful material on the doubling cube.