Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-10-2006, 02:15 PM

Default Dave Ramsey

I've been listening to "D-Ram" for a few months now on the internet. I like a lot of the ideas he brings to the table. I wanted to know what you all thought about him?

I know he's a pretty extreme get-out-of-debt-now guy, but I like his attitude. I know many of you in this forum already have a positive net worth, so listening to Dave wouldn't be as helpful to you, as it would to someone in debt. There are some things he says that I don't agree with. (Like paying off small debts before large debts. I say pay off high interest debt first). But he talks of the psychological advantage of getting rid of a debt, so I can dig that, too.

For those of you familiar with Dave, do you prefer him over Suze Orman?

Thanks!
Old 08-10-2006, 03:47 PM

Default Re: Dave Ramsey

The important thing to remember when listening to Ramsey is that he's making generalizations addressed at people who really have no concept of managing money. I sometimes think he closet-disagrees with his own advice on certain issues, but maintains it because he has to stay consistent. In general, he does a good service for people who really need his help. If you've got a grasp on your finances, then his axioms aren't as relevant to you.
Old 08-10-2006, 07:30 PM

I have recently started listening to his program and find it to be good advice, yes there are times when what he espouses may not be the most dollar efficient way to go about it, but he freely admits that sometimes you have to adjust for your psychology and pay a small amount more so that you are better able to maintain the rigor of paying the total debt over the long term.