Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-08-2006, 08:51 AM

Default New Business/Website (want feedback)

This post might get a bit long so I'm going to try to keep it as structured as possible.

Who am I ?

In short, my name is Christian Kjellström and I'm a 21 year old student from Sweden. I'm studying for my Masters in Business and Management at the moment and when I don't study I work evenings for a marketing company and I play poker semiprofessionally. You can read more about me at my blog http://www.businessandpoker.com

ThisIsTheAd

http://www.ThisIsTheAd.com is the business/website I'm referring to in this post. I came up with the idea after discussing the MillionDollarHomepage with some of my friends at work (who hasn't?). There's a bunch of copycat sites who all failed miserably. However, I think there's still a lot of potential for similar sites as long as the idea is somewhat unique.

The idea

The idea is that only one ad will be on the frontpage and very in focus. To get this ad the advertiser has to pay more than the previous advertiser. However, whenever another advertiser buys the front page the previous advertiser gets money back. You get (100-days*4) back with a max at 90%. So 2 days is 90% back, 5 days is 80% back, 10 days is 60% back and so on. Only if no one is able to pay a higher price within 25 days will the advertiser pay the full amount.