Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-08-2006, 12:23 AM

Default Interview Skills--Help

Hello there,

I have a BS degree in Electrical Engineering. I already had about 10 interviews in the related fields. Zero offer [img]/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] The only job I could find is working for circuit city, 8/hr + commission. You guys have any interview tips. I know I have to show my strength. Apparently, it didn't work out that way, and I stammer, especially talking to strangers [img]/images/graemlins/crazy.gif[/img].

Thanks in advance,

Joe
Old 08-08-2006, 02:43 AM

Default Re: Interview Skills--Help

<brag>I am not a good public speaker, nor am I outgoing, but I am excellent in interviews.</brag> i.e. It shouldn't matter if you are shy or not a great speaker.

The key is preparation.

I recommend looking around the internet and finding typical interview questions. Copy and paste them into a word document. Then you should literally type out answers for each of them, word for word, what you plan to say in response. Type as if you were talking, (like a script) not as you normally write. Do as many as you can. Then read your answers out loud until you are very comfortable repeating them without looking at the sheet.

You don't need to memorize them word for word as this may make it sound like you've memorized answers... But, you should be very familiar with what you want to say, so that you are able to articulate everything that you want to on the spot.

In addition to the common questions, you should also prepare for technical questions that you expect to be asked.

That is my forumla for interview success. It takes some work, but it is obviously well worth it.