Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Science, Math, and Philosophy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-03-2006, 04:42 AM

Default Ethical help

I am currently doing a masters in accounting. After the enron collapse plus similar here in australia, the accountants got all worried about ethics. Consequently every subject I do has an "ethical section" listing various rules, practises, codes of conduct etc.

Following rules seems like a lazy moral position to me (and obviously so) is this right? Is there a point to rules if you dont think they should be binding? If it's just a bunch of suggestions from some group or other, should they carry any weight in my deliberations if I disagree with them? (Ie - does a rule contradicting my ethical inclinations provide evidence I am wrong?)

Of course, if I work as an auditor, CPA, CA, whatever then I am going to sign something saying I will obey them all. Presumably it's wrong to do that if I have no intention of doing so? Yet I cant practise effectively without joining a professional body...

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Old 08-03-2006, 05:03 AM

Default Re: Ethical help

In my opinion you should follow the letter of the rules you agree to. When you join a professional body, or work in various legal or representative capacities, you cease to be an individual and become an agent of society, or the company you work for. The common good is usually served when people act according to the rules that governing bodies have decided upon. Of course, there are exceptions, but mostly in areas like medicine where it's not so clear cut.

Do you have examples of rules that go against your ethics?
Old 08-03-2006, 05:21 AM

hiya bunny,