Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-22-2006, 03:22 AM

Default A difficult decision regarding online poker

I started playing online around 2 years ago, and started off fairly small. Back then I was living mostly off my parents, who are fairly well off. As such online poker was really a secondary income of a few hundred here and there to support my bad habits [never really did drugs], even won a few smaller $10-$30 star's RB&A tournaments.

Fast forward 2 years later and i'm living with 2 other roommates in a very upscale apartment that w/ utilities & what-not costs a good $2000/mo. Most of my money [to afford] this came from a local bar-game, which has since degenerated. So now i'm at a crossroads.

For the past 3 weeks i've been "skating" around the various types of online poker to find a type of game that suits me. I've played every single type of HE avaiable except HU, trying to game that suits me. The characteristics of a game I wish to play are that it's good money, somewhat lower variance, and option to move up to higher levels and still be able to compete. So here's how it went...

10 tabled 5/10 full limit ring. I ran very very well pulling off @ 3.5BB/100 over about 15,000 hands. I just didn't notice my opponents making enough mistakes that I could safely exploit 10 tabling so I'm assuming my real winrate is about .5/100 [10 tabling]. I asked around and 5/10 at party is considered a rock garden, and at most people 4 table it. I've also heard the higher limit full rings just get worse and worse and that nobody but the very best beat the rake. So i'd have to cut down to 4 tables just to pull off a slight profit, and then theres the chance that I don't find juicy games higher up.