Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-01-2006, 10:20 AM

Default Scientific American Article: The Expert Mind

Link to article.

A very interesting article that has clear implications for poker players. Current research seems to indicate that experts are made, not born, and that the path to expert status is achieved by years of "effortful study".

Also interesting is that there is no transference; an expert in say backgammon, does not have an advantage when it comes to learing poker.

Lost Wages
Old 08-01-2006, 10:34 AM

Default Re: Scientific American Article: The Expert Mind

I skimmed the article. As an undergrad I took a lot of courses that had to do with this subject. This is old news: Experience in a field is so much more important than intelligence. The older I get, the clearer this becomes. If I want something done, I'll take the experienced guy over the smart guy any day.

I think on twoplustwo intelligence is way overrated, perhaps because of Sklansky's biases. Instead of rushing to prove that their IQ is one point above someone else's, most people here would be better served to work hard at gaining experience.
Old 08-01-2006, 11:06 PM

[ QUOTE ]
I skimmed the article. As an undergrad I took a lot of courses that had to do with this subject. This is old news: Experience in a field is so much more important than intelligence. The older I get, the clearer this becomes. If I want something done, I'll take the experienced guy over the smart guy any day.

I think on twoplustwo intelligence is way overrated, perhaps because of Sklansky's biases. Instead of rushing to prove that their IQ is one point above someone else's, most people here would be better served to work hard at gaining experience.

[/ QUOTE ]