Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Student Life
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-30-2006, 10:50 AM

Default internships

Since I was a freshman in college, I've had a bunch of internships. Most of them have been at political places or non-profits, but I've done a few private sector internships as well. I'm curious to hear about other people's experiances with internships in their field.

Personally, I've found most of my internships to be relatively unfullfilling. I've had a few internships where I was given long-term projects, but mostly I wind up doing lame grunt work.

There have been two exceptions. When I was a sophomore, I did an internship with a labor union in Philadelphia. The head of the union took a liking to me and would let me come with him to all sorts of meetings. I would just sit back and watch everything unfold-- then he'd ask me to analyze the everything on the ride back to the union hall. He told a ton of stories and seemed genuinly interested in helping me learn about the labor movement.

Why sorts of experiances have you guys had?
Old 07-30-2006, 11:16 AM

Default Re: internships

Mostly cell culture lab work in pharmaceutical/biomaterial companies. Most of the time the lab work was tedious as hell but we did do a bunch of animal studies which were quite interesting.

When I was at Wyeth we were testing anti-depression medication by using drugs which altered hormone receptors in the brain. It was theorized that this kind of medication negatively altered learning ability so we essentially doped up a group of mice and put them through memory/coordination tests to review the effects.