Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-30-2006, 06:10 AM

Default Woud you recommend people take up poker?

I am a relative beginner- been playing for 9 months at the nanos. Been a consistent winner at the lowest levels, in that time.

I LOVE poker- I am really into it. I study and play daily.

BUT.....

I can honestly say that I have great reservations about recommending people give it a go. I think there are too many people with addictive / compulsive personalities that would be unsuitable for poker.

Poker (/ gambling) really is a (potentially) dangerous game. You walk such a thin line every time you play.

So what I'm trying to say is although I am totally engrossed in the game- I wouldn't like to be personally responsible for someone else taking it up.

Any thought?

Ian
Old 07-30-2006, 07:33 AM

Default Re: Woud you recommend people take up poker?

I recommend poker to all uneducated, ignorant, stupid, non-mathematical people with money to burn.

In the future please keep your opinion to yourself since you will cost all of us two plus two'ers a lot of money.
Old 07-30-2006, 08:38 AM

[ QUOTE ]
I recommend poker to all uneducated, ignorant, stupid, non-mathematical people with money to burn.

In the future please keep your opinion to yourself since you will cost all of us two plus two'ers a lot of money.

[/ QUOTE ]

Come on, it's not like he's standing on a street corner holding a sign that says, "Don't play poker--it's much harder than it seems!"

If a friend asked me if they should start playing, I'd first explain to them what it takes to be a winner. If I thought that the person wouldn't be able to handle it, I'd tell them no. If I did, I would probably offer them books/coaching once they started taking it seriously.
Old 07-30-2006, 09:21 AM

[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

1) What the 'ell is the point of a forum? To offer opinions?