Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Gambling > Psychology
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-28-2006, 02:57 PM

Default advice on moving up.

I've been playing for @ 3 years now. 1st year...I was just jerking around, but last 2 years been more serious. I play mainly 6max limit, although I pepper my play w/ all forms of holdem just for variety. Long story short, I'm having trouble breaking into 5/10 limit. I'm beating 2/4 for 2.68BB/100 (over 125khands) , 3/6 is a bit less, about 1.1BB/100 (over 75k hands), and then when I take a shot at 5/10, I absolutely get my ass handed to me. If not sooner, then later. So I keep repeating this cycle where I grind out a decent bankroll (around 7k at the moment), take a shot, and POW...get hammered....then I regret taking a shot saying I shgoulda just kept plodding along at 2/4 and 3/6. Then , when I'm real comfortable again, I say...christ, I have to move up....I could be making so much more money and I'm sickly over-rolled for what I play.
I've analyzed the hands from my 5/10 sessions, and posted just a few of them. Nothing much to report there....seems for the most part I'm just on the ass end of varience. The majority of my losses seem to be either bad luck, or 2nd best hand syndrome.l I can recognize that, but meanwhile, the higher stakes are hitting my bakroll to a point that makes me uncomfortable. I'm not saying I never get outplayed there, cuz I'm sure I do. I can get outpayed at 2/4. I just don't feel I'm sorely outmatched there. Who knows, maybe thats my ego effing with me. So I have to bail and drop down....take a month or 2 or 3 to regroup, then try again. Then I get hammered again.

Doesn't seem like it should be that hard to post consisting winning stats at 5/10...sure it's a tougher game than 2/4.....but it's not like there's Phil Iveys at every table.