Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Stud
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-21-2006, 04:59 AM

Default 3 handed 75/150 stud hi.. interesting hand.

i came into the room in the morning a few months ago and this hand really has been annoying me. its the foxwoods 75/150 stud game, and there were two players i have had some limited experience with in the past playing HU. my holdem game had not gotten together yet (which is VERY rare, but it was post-WPT tournament time and games are very dry/slow to get together during this time).

so i grabbed some chips and sat down at the stud game. one player is a middle aged fellow, who plays pretty solidly and is a regular in the game. he is very intelligent but tends to play too timidly at times.. but is still a winning player. the other is a mid 20's asian kid. he is also someone i see playing in the game regularly, but not as much as the other. he is a very intelligent and very skilled and thoughtful player.. he evaluates scenario's very well and is a winning player. i figure there will be some live players filling in soon, so we mix it up 3-handed for a little while.

i am winning after around 30 hands, and this hand came up.

the asian kid brings it in for $25..

i hold (J[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 10[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] ) 9[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] and complete

older guy with XXA[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img] calls, asian kid mucks.

pot: $220

4th
me: ( J[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] 10[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] ) 9[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]
villain: XXA[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]7[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img]

he bets, i raise, he calls.
pot: $520

5th