Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Legislation
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-15-2006, 06:31 PM

Default secure your privacy! (technical response to possible ban)

I think I'm going to get one of these anyway. You can pay for a commercial proxy service. All of your net traffic goes thru here. According to pokerstars FAQ, it looks like they, at least, support proxies.

Anway, here's a directory of pay ones (note: there are free ones, but I wouldn't trust them to stay up. You'd probably have to constantly switch and it would be a pain).

Google directory of proxy services

I'm looking for one that is offshore. Like I said, given our cuurent political climate (wiretapping, et al), I've been thinking of doing this anyway.
Old 07-15-2006, 08:11 PM

Default Re: secure your privacy! (technical response to possible ban)

Im not very technical... but do these proxy severs give me a way to get around any potnetial goverment access blockages?
Old 07-15-2006, 08:53 PM

well, as far as the ISP is concerned you are connected to the proxy server (that's why it should be overseas, ideally). Your connection to that server is encrypted. So the ISP sees encyrpted traffic to the proxy server. They have no idea what the traffic contains or it's destination. The proxy server then connects to netteller, poker sites etc. If that server is outside the U.S., even a court order for U.S. ISP's to not allow connection to gambling sites would matter.

Until recently, I assumed that poker sites would NOT support connection through a proxy server (there are reasons not to. For instance, I could have a second account on a second computer using a proxy server and collude myself). However, according to this link on pokerstars web site they support proxy connections. I'm not sure about other sites (party's site search doesn't work at the moment).