Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-07-2006, 11:33 AM

Default Difficult Decisions, Bad Designs (Pooh-Bah?)

[I guess this is a pooh-bah post, but since I've been a CT for ever, maybe it's just the random ramblings of an old man...]

Difficult Decisions, Misplayed Earlier Streets

In my other life (the one where I get a paycheck) I'm a software engineer. I've been programming for a long while. I've built big systems from the ground up, maintained other systems, and helped on all kinds of stuff. For a long time my professional interest has been the reliability & design of code and diagnosing errors in production software. This is something I've thought a lot about over the years. (This is leading somewhere, I promise.)

Here's one thing I believe to be usually true about software in complex systems. If a piece of code is difficult to write, it's probably because the surrounding system is either badly designed or has defects in it. I'm amazed how often this is the case. A block of code is difficult to write usually because the surrounding infrastructure isn't quite suited to the task, or because some facility or data isn't easily available from that context, or because the code you are trying to write is semantically incorrect. It's almost as if the code knows it's wrong somehow and resists being written.

But when everything is designed well -- both the code you are writing and the system you are adding it to -- code seems to practically write itself. It just flows, effortlessly, right out your fingertips. This is true even with very complex code that you might think would naturally be hard to write. But it's not hard to write if the system is well-designed. It may take time, or a lot of code, but it won't take a lot of wrangling or struggle to get the pieces to snap together.

This does relate to poker. Here's how.