Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-02-2006, 07:33 PM

Default the El Tigre Oddesey (a cautionary tale)

Okay for those who dont know me, and I presume most of you do not as I dont post a whole bunch, I am El Tigre. This is my story of ups and downs.

I started playing poker for serious about 1 year ago. Took a 50 dollar instant bankroll at party started playing 1-2 6max. This was also the first time I had ever played limit. I went on a heater and won 1500. cashed out 500 and lost the rest playing way out of my bankroll.

Stopped playing for awhile. Then I was at borders and found small stakes holdem. Devoured it in a couple days. Put some money in during the winter, and lost lost lost, until I had a semi breakthrough. I turned 300 into about 4700 over about 2 months starting at .25/.50 and eventually 2-4. It wasnt an especially hot string of cards or anything. I think i was at 1.7BB/100. I also won a couple tourneys which netted me about 1500. Then school was in full swing and i needed money so I pulled the money out and stopped.

This brings us to about may. I decided summer was coming up and I needed something to entertain me while I wasnt working or playing golf. I put 600 into pokerstars and started at .50/1 to get my feet wet. Played a couple thousand hands to clear a 50 bonus, then I moved up to 1/2. Went on a mini heater working it up to about 1400. I decided to start playing 2/4. Got worked over nice. Lost a lot very quickly and learned my real nemesis was tilt. I was playing over my head trying to win it back too quickly and ended up with just 500 dollars left. I decided that a bonus was in order and I took my money to absolute because of their 100% bonus. I cleared that and had about 1600.