Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > MTT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-26-2006, 02:14 PM

Default Boot Camp for WSOP

I fell ass-backwards into a seat in yesterday's Titan freeroll. I didn't even know when the M.E. was starting, and for 8 hours last night I was telling everybody that it was July 7th (2005's dates).

So anyway, it's time for some training. I am immediately purchasing:

- HoH3 (already have 1 and 2)
- NLHE by Miller
- Kill Phil

Obviously I will be reading all of these at least once. After that, I don't know. I should definitely spend a significant amount of time studying Kill Phil. I've already read SS, TPFAP, TOP, and more.

As for actual practice, I have little experience in deep-stack events, especially with high antes. Is Pokerstars the best for this? The buy-in can't be too big though - I've never entered higher than a $22 speed SNG, and I'm usually an $11.

I suppose going to Atlantic City (I'm on Long Island) is feasible, but I don't know if the cost and time are worth the slight benefit from a little bit more live experience. I've previously made some big scores in Showboat's tournaments.

That should be enough to start a discussion...
Old 06-26-2006, 02:23 PM

Default Re: Boot Camp for WSOP

To be honest, I don't think you can read all 3 of those books in this short of time to actually gain anything from it. That stuff needs to be read, re-read, digested, etc...but, I guess it depends on the person.

I would pick one of the books or maybe pick out certain chapters from each of those books.

As for getting hands in, not sure, personally, I think live play would be better. 2 hrs to AC or foxwoods isn't so bad i guess.
Old 06-26-2006, 02:26 PM

1) Immediately stop playing anything but MTTs (no cash games, no SNGs) to get yourself fully in the MTT mindset