Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > PL/NL Texas Hold'em > High Stakes
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-23-2006, 02:17 PM

Default Bet Pot Button

Having played at a site without a bet pot button for the last 200k hands I recently started playing on a site with one again. I have noticed that I am having to make some strategic tweeks. Here are a couple thoughts:

1) Bets are much bigger PF with limpers and almost always 3.5x without.

This makes it easy to play in position but terrible to play something like a low PP in early or middle to position. I am getting tired of limping with 33 after a limper or two and then some weak, medium stack pots it behind for 10% of his stack. Without the "bet-pot" button there was a tendancy for weaker players to not adjust their PF raises to pot size.

2) PF 3-bets are much bigger on average.

With 100bb stacks weaker players no longer give good odds to crack their bigger hands. Let's say I raise with 66 or 89s in CO, button calls, and BB hits the "bet-pot" button. The bet is now 290 where previously this bet tended to hover around 200. Makes it tricky to play very aggressive opponents making me have a tendancy to weak-tighten up.

3) Flop continuation bets are almost always pot size.

This makes it a bit harder to float, changes the dynamic of the checkraise, increases the value of not reraising AA PF, etc.....

4) Flop raises and check-raises do not use "bet-pot" button.

Players who seem to love the bet-pot button stop using it in these spots. Probably because of the strength of their hand and this is no different than no "bet-pot" button games.

5) In medium pots, river bets tend to be pot size.

Not a huge difference, but inducing bluffs goes up in value and value betting medium strength hands is a little trickier because of the following reason.

6) Less than "bet-pot" bets are seen as weak.

I have noticed a tendancy for people to jump all over less than pot-bets.