Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-19-2006, 08:27 PM

Default Good colleges for me?

Alright, I'm going to be a senior in HS next year, so I've started cracking down on colleges. I've come to OOT to help me with suggestions.

First, a little about me. I'm just a regular high school guy. I got a 2100 (720 Reading, 700 Math, 680 Writing) on my SAT and have a 98 GPA. I'm in NHS. I'm in virtually all AP classes. I'm a manager for our HS basketball team (those who can't ball, manage). I was in a language club for three years, but will not be taking it this upcoming year. I have a job as a server for a local restaurant, and have been acolyting for my church since 6th grade.

At this point, I'm not sure of what I want to do yet. I'm leaning towards some sort of writing, but it's all hearsay right now. What I'm looking for right now is a good liberal arts school where I would be free to pick and choose my classes, and maybe wait a couple of semesters before choosing my major. Weather isn't a big deal; I'm from Texas, so heat doesn't bother me, and I can deal with the cold. I'm looking to go out of state. So far, I've found two schools that really interest me: Bucknell University in PA, and the University of Chicago. I've been to many different cities in the US, and my favorites have been Chicago (where my brother goes to school at the Art Institute), San Diego, DC, and Seattle. I'd prefer a medium size school, probably nothing with more than around 15,000 students. Other than that, I'm not too picky at this point.

Any suggestions for schools or just general advice about applying to colleges would be greatly appreciated.
Old 06-19-2006, 08:30 PM

Default Re: Good colleges for me?

I have friends that go to Haverford and Swarthmore. They both like it there.
Old 06-19-2006, 08:33 PM