Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-19-2006, 09:20 AM

Default 1/2 QJ in BB

PokerStars 1/2 Hold'em (10 handed) Hand History Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com (Format: 2+2 Forums)

Preflop: Hero is BB with J[img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img], Q[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img].
<font color="#666666">7 folds</font>, <font color="#CC3333">Button raises</font>, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, Hero calls.

Flop: (4.50 SB) Q[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img], K[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
Hero checks, <font color="#CC3333">Button bets</font>, Hero calls.

Turn: (3.25 BB) 5[img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img] <font color="#0000FF">(2 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Hero bets</font>

Final Pot: 4.25 BB

I'm new to limit, so sorry if this is stupid. Comments on all streets please.
Old 06-19-2006, 09:52 AM

Default Re: 1/2 QJ in BB

The prototypical line in a situation like this where you're either way ahead or way behind is: check/call, check/call, bet.

Against some players I like a turn bet (when the player will shutdown betting after the flop but is loose enough to still call down with 55). If the button is loose enough and you can count on him to bet the turn you might even checkraise.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that if you can't provide a read on the button - there's a number of ways to play this hand. The only line I'd consider "wrong" in this hand is one that doesn't have you seeing showdown.

If you had a read on the button - post it and you'll get more specific responses.
Old 06-19-2006, 10:14 AM

Your play is way too passive, even without the read.