Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-15-2006, 10:25 AM

Default Why do I play worse live than online?

I have been playing poker for the past two years on the internet playing small limit ($2/$4 - $10/$20 short handed). I consider myself a solid online player and do pretty well (averaging $3k-4k/month). Anyway, I live in the suburbs of Philadelphia where the nearest legal poker room is in Atlantic City. The times I make it out there to play poker I recall having a losing session 80% of the time I go, which is about 2 times a month. There are so many factors that I think about for the reasoning of my losses but cant just figure out which it is...

I typically play the limit of 7.50/15 at the Trop which is all 2.50 chips where people truly lose concept of money. There are soo many preflop limper that it makes me sick! The swings are pretty big. It's like a live 2/4 game. The pots get huge but your premium hands will most likely get cracked. Should I move up in limit? What limit live plays like 5/10 on the internet? Im usually there on the weekends too.. is it the donkey tourists? Should I go on the weekdays and play with the regulars?

In addition, whenever I put in a session I play for over 12hrs which I would rarely do on the internet. Then when im stuck a few hundred by then I think to myself should I have played roullete betting the outside? Are my sessions too long? When should I pick up and be satisfied?