Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Internet Gambling > Internet Gambling
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-02-2006, 03:01 AM

Default Pro poker player buying a house...

Hey guys...wondering if anyone here has some expertise on this subject. My girlfriend and I have been renting a place for a little over two years, kept renting longer than we wanted to because of concerns we might move...we've now decided to stay in town long term. We're looking to move in somewhere in September, as our lease is up end of August.

My grandfather is going to co-sign a loan for us...but I'm wondering how much impact it's going to have that she has a low paying job (non-profit work) and I have zero job. I play poker during the days and play music at night -- though, admittedly, my living is about 90% poker right now (trying to change that, but it's just easier making money at poker than at music at the moment). Will loan agents not give a crap since I have a co-signer who's rich with perfect credit and owns two homes? Or will my professions (not like either one of them are "stable" in most people's eyes) cause them to raise an eyebrow at the loan altogether?

If so, is there some creative way I could describe what I do for a living that would be better for purposes of the loan? Home-based business? Private investor (I think of each STT as an investment in my own abilities to play properly)? Would it be better if I claimed that music paid all my expenses?

Anyone with some experience at this, please help! If this is the wrong forum for this, mods, please feel free to move it. I debated about OOT or Zoo and landed on Zoo.
Old 06-02-2006, 03:20 AM

Default Re: Pro poker player buying a house...

I've been a mortgage loan officer for the last 15 years.