Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Theory
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-31-2006, 06:56 PM

Default Handling Tilt

In the last month or so, I started playing 5/10 NL. I bought in 2500 total and was down to my last 200 before I went on a disgusting 19000 dollar run. I would really like to control my bankroll this time instead of blowing all of it away, and tilt always gets the best of me.

Just yesterday, I had my KK beat by KK...KQ by JK on the river...top set beat by a guy who put me all in with his draw - you get the picture, just disgusting beats. After taking a few hits, I went on tilt and started calling raises with marginal hands, costing me tons of money. I went on to lose 3700 yesterday.

My question is what should I do about this tilt? I think I am a pretty decent player(rated as neither tight nor loose bomb on poker-edge.com) and I get my money in with the best hand most of the time...but if I take a few hits and go on tilt, it feels like I'm going to lose everything.

Thanks
Old 05-31-2006, 08:31 PM

Default Re: Handling Tilt

It's a matter of your perspective. If you can realize that it's all part of one big game, and keep it in that perspective, than you should feel better about your results. Sure, when your KQ gets out drawn by KJ it hurts, but it's SUPPOSED to happen once in a small while. Not 1 in 48, 1 in 24, 1 in 12, or even 1 in 6! KQ is only a 3.5-1 favorite. (70.8%-23.6%) I know it feels horrible, but what separates mediocre players from the best, is the amount won in those 70% vs money lost on the 23%. Keep these things in mind, and continue to make the right decisions. If losing hurts your ability to continue to make the right decisions, perhaps you are playing above your comfort/bankroll level and should move down for awhile.
-md
www.myspace.com/iambabyd
Old 05-31-2006, 09:10 PM