Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-25-2006, 10:59 AM

Default Advice on buy back loans for property investment

Let me preface by stating I'm new to property investment, so bear with me.
The situation is a friend of mine is liquidating a rental property business he has with his brother in law and is offering 3 of these properties to myself and my business partner. Here's the skinny:

The 3 properties are broken down into 2x4 rental units and 1x3 unit rental property. The total asking price for the 3 units is @1.1 million. The 3 properties are located in the Charles village area of baltimore (which is a good area now and looks to have a nice upside as well.....blocks from JHU).
The properties have all been upgraded in the past 5 years and look to have no major issues. The positive cashflow on these properties is modest.

Now.....needless to say, I don't have the money to buy this. I pretty much have zip. I own a house which has an excellent situation going on with it I don't want to jeopardize. Seller is offering an interest only loan to us for downpayment....basically, seller takes 2nd mortgage, lends us down payment, we pay 9% interest on a 200K loan for first 5 years, then owe the principal....if we can't pay, we do another 5 year interest only and so on. I know this is done all the time, but it's new to me, and being pretty conservative by nature, it's kinda scary to be on the line for that much money which I'm quite sure I won't have in the next 5 years. The prices for the properties are fair market and I believe will go up, but it's more of a long term investment than a flip it quick type of thing.