Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-23-2006, 12:47 AM

Default Debit/ credit card question

Guys I am new to buying stuff over the internet. There is something I want to purchase. I was told by their support that they only accept credit cards, they will not accept my visa debit card that comes directly from my checking account.

What I am asking is is this normal operating procedure on the internet? Should I look for a company that takes both debit and credit cards or should I accept that I need a credit card to buy the item? The item will come from overseas if that makes any difference I dont know.
Old 05-23-2006, 12:48 AM

Default Re: Debit/ credit card question

better credit card anyway...if it goes bad, you can always dispute charges.

different with debit
Old 05-23-2006, 12:49 AM

A debit card should function exactly like a credit card... I've heard of a few instances of where places were "credit" only but there really is no reason they shouldn't accept both.

However it is better to use a credit card anyway. Credit cards have much better fraud/buyer protection than debit cards, plus you can earn bonus points, etc. (this of course assumes you'll pay off the entire balance each month)
Old 05-23-2006, 12:53 AM

Eh, that's BS. Debit over the Interweb (called 'signature debit' or 'offline debit', same as when you run a debit as 'credit' IRL) is run through the same authorization network as a credit visa. PIN debit (when you use your PIN, called 'online debit') runs through EFT/ATM networks.

Unless I'm mistaken, on the Internet (without access to the full amount of data in the magnetic stripe), there is no way for the merchant to tell if the card is credit or debit. Also, Visa will for the most part cover any fraud (credit or debit) if the authorization occurs via Visa net (not the ATM/EFT networks).
Old 05-23-2006, 12:54 AM