Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-21-2006, 12:57 PM

Default First Time Post

Hello folks,

After a couple weeks lurking in the various forums, I have taken the plunge and decided to sign up and post. First of all I would like to say that reading the various forums has already been a very informative and rewarding process, and I hope my own contributions in time can live up to this standard. Now the ass kissings out the way [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img] I have a question (or two) for you guys, but first I'll tell you my poker story so far...

I played my first hand of poker a year ago, after watching it on TV for a while and not understanding really what was going on. So I signed up for a site, played a few hands, and that was it, hooked for life. I started playing play money limit SNGs to learn the game basics, and once I'd done that I moved to NL, and in a month decided to play for real. Now in this year I've stuck almost exclusively to NL SNGs and MTTs. I haven't played cash games (much) for two reasons. The first is that I haven't had the bankroll to support this, I only play small stakes ($5-$10) and I like to play knowing that the entry fee is all I'm gonna pay. The second is that I just enjoy tourneys more, I prefer the overall structure, ie the pressure of the blinds, the faster pace etc.