Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-18-2006, 11:35 AM

Default Help a Dumb 19 Year Old Kid

Finance Experts,

I am a college student that has had some success with poker. However, I am really clueless when it comes to investing. I have about 16k right now separated as such:

-3k in online accounts (poker accounts and neteller) which serves as bankroll
-1k in checking account for expenditures
-12.3k invested in T-rowe price mutual funds. (Blue-chip growth (40%), capital appreciation (20%), growth stock (20%), Emerging European and Mediterranean (20%)

As I've read some of this forum, people tend to use vanguard for their funds....I didn't know this at the time I put a lot of my money in T-rowe Price. I read through the prospectus for each fund and such when I chose them but I didn't really know what I was doing. The funds on T-rowe have gotten about 0 total return in the 18 months I have had money in there....I know this isn't shocking or bad for aggressive stock funds. However, I still don't think these funds are the right place for my money.

I do not need to touch the money I invest....and I am contributing 400 dollars a month (and this will not change no matter what). Should I take all the money out of T-rowe Price and put it in some Vanguard Index Fund?

What would you do if you were me? I understand the value of compounding interest and I want to get an early start.

Thanks
Andrew
Old 05-18-2006, 12:37 PM

Default Post deleted by Mat Sklansky

Old 05-18-2006, 01:53 PM

Default Re: Help a Dumb 19 Year Old Kid

Without being arrogant, I'll give you a good piece of advice, perhaps the best you will ever get.