Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Beats, Brags, and Variance
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-02-2006, 11:25 PM

Default Greatest Comeback Ever (long)

I've been playing in poker tournaments for about seven years and this is the best comeback that I can remember, especially this late in the game. And its definitely the best that I have ever had.

It was in my weekly home game tournament with 11 players. Everyone starts with 3k.Its a $20 buy-in. Each player gets one $20 rebuy anytime for another 3k in chips. The payouts were 1st: $220, 2nd: $70 and 3rd: $30.

Early on I was doing ok, but not great. I ended up busting out with A-J suited vs. 33. Since we had a decent crowd and there were already a couple rebuys, I decided I would
take my one rebuy.

After that I was doing pretty well, I built my 3k into about 5k when we got to the final table. I was doing ok, holding my own, but not gaining many chips. Eventually we got down to four people. Three of us had 3k-5k. And
Brian had about 30k. Blinds were up to 800-1600.

I tried taking out Drew with A-8 suited from the SB and he called me with A-9 suited in the BB. I couldn't catch so I was down to 1000.

So I only had 1000 and the blinds were 800-1600. And now
I'm in the BB. All fold to Brian who only has to call 200 more to put me all-in. My 4-4 held up against his 9-2 and I was up to 2000.

Now I'm in the SB. All fold to me and I move all-in with 7-3. If I thought about it much longer I might have just
folded it, because at that point I was still just trying to limp into third place. But he had been laughing at how bad his hand was and showing it around. I thought there was a chance he might lay it down. I told him "I have a pretty decent hand." He only had to call 400, and he should have called with anything, but he laid his 2-3 down and I was back up to 3600. I think I stole the blinds after that and got built up another 2400.