Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Legislation
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-27-2006, 07:22 PM

Default Poker Pro Tax question

Hello All,

I've recently become a professional poker player, and have questions regarding taxes. I understand most pros don't report their winnings to the IRS. What's the best way to go about this?

thanks in advance,
Cent
Old 03-28-2006, 07:05 AM

Default Re: Poker Pro Tax question

Uh, pros definitely report their winnings because since they deal in large dollar amounts, their winnings actually get reported to the IRS. You have to fill out forms and crap.

You may be referring to the fact, (as I've apparently heard) that pros report net winnings, not winning sessions. This means that they fall under a small tax bracket than they would have reporting winning sessions and taking deductions from losing ones.

I'm far from an expert on this, but I'm pretty damn sure they do report their winnings (or end up like Matusow... not that he went there for taxes...)
Old 03-28-2006, 04:28 PM

When reporting your earnings for the year, do you only report what you have withdrawn from your online account and into netteller or bank? If not that way, how do you keep an accurate record of exactly how much you made in the year?
Old 03-28-2006, 05:38 PM

I thought you don't have to pay tax on any gambling winnings. This may only be in the UK.
Old 03-28-2006, 10:09 PM

You understand wrong. In the US, anyone (pro or not) who does not report income from gambling is committing a possibly serious crime.
Old 03-30-2006, 03:17 PM

[ QUOTE ]
Hello All,

I've recently become a professional poker player, and have questions regarding taxes. I understand most pros don't report their winnings to the IRS. What's the best way to go about this?

[/ QUOTE ]

Best way to go about not reporting your winnings? Don't duck taxes, that's the best way.
Old 03-30-2006, 07:56 PM