Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Science, Math, and Philosophy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-16-2006, 06:50 PM

Default I, Pencil

This post relates to one of my favorite essays of all time, another oldie but goody, I, Pencil, by Leonard Read. The introduction (which stangely comes after the essay; don't ask me why) and the afterword are also brilliant. Anyone who has read my posts in SMP and Politics knows that I am an amateur student of both economics and evolution. I believe one can greatly inform the other. Just as Nature needs no "intelligent designer" to create vastly complex highly adapted organisms, human society needs no central planner to create incredibly complex achievements.

[ QUOTE ]
There are two kinds of thinking: simplistic and subtle. Simplistic thinkers cannot understand how complex and useful social orders arise from any source other than conscious planning by a purposeful mind. Subtle thinkers, in contrast, understand that individual actions often occur within settings that encourage individuals to coordinate their actions with one another independent of any overarching plan. F. A. Hayek called such unplanned but harmonious coordination "spontaneous order."
<font color="white"> . </font>