PDA

View Full Version : Gold's radio interview

Willy
08-16-2006, 08:39 AM
I just listened to part of Jamie Gold's interview on bigpoker.ca. Only part because he was so irritating I couldn't finish which is first for me. He is the self proclaimed best tournament player ever. Doyle. Hellmuth, Ferguson etc. all told him they have never seem a better player.
Common sense tells me this guy is a pathological liar but judge for yourself. If anyone can get through the entire interview I am interested whether it got any better at the end. If so, maybe I'll try again.

Frankly this guy's ego make Hellmuth's look small.

heater
08-16-2006, 10:23 AM
He says that poker is in his blood. He tells a story about how his parents would brag about how well he could count when he was two years old and he would say, "2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10, jack, queen, king, ace."

He says when he met Johnny Chan he told him, "Listen, I'm a famous agent. Everyone of my clients is a celebrity. I want to make you a celebrity in poker."

He talks about his tourney wins at Hustler and says that people were starting to call him "the best of the minor leagues."

He talks about playing with Bobby Hoff and says Bobby always loves beating him because Jamie beats everybody else at the table. Says that Hoff told him that because of his style he would be the greatest tournament player that ever lived if he focused on tournaments.

"The tournament finished a day early because I got everybody playing so fast. They were all so scared."

He says that he would meet with Johnny Chan at the end of every day and Chan would ask him what his plan was for the next day. He says Chan told him, "I can't possibly help you. Everything you're saying is the right thing to do."