Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-28-2006, 02:54 PM

Default Lessons from the Pro Poker Tour - quick review

I just picked up Lessons from the Pro Poker Tour by David Apostolico Pro Poker Tour

I haven't finished reading it yet but my first impressions are good.

David walks you through different hands that he has either played or witnessed during the Poker Tour (almost every hand involves pro players). He evaluates the play made by each player and what lessons could be taken from those plays.

This book helps you start thinking like a pro when making difficult decisions - he even breaks down the book to different hands and situations such as playing pre and post flop AK, QQ, JJ and other difficult hands.

This book almost reminds me of a NL version of Roy Cooke's book - Real Poker II, the Play of Hands.

I am not an expert NL player so I can't say whether or not the information is correct but I do think this is a worthwhile book to check out.

Anyone else read this?
Old 08-28-2006, 08:33 PM

Default Re: Lessons from the Pro Poker Tour - quick review

I haven't read it and was, honestly, thinking of skipping it. I didn't really think much of his previous books, but based on your post here I might check it out. It sounds interesting.
Old 08-28-2006, 09:28 PM

Hey deacsoft,

Yeah, I know what you mean.. personally I never picked up his other books as they seem kind of gimmicky (i.e. Machiavellian Poker Strategy, Tournament Poker and the Art of War, etc...) but this one is different.

It's more about hand analysis and the thinking process of different starting hands preflop and post flop..how to think like a pro in different situations (i.e. call or bet with AK in the button and if betting, how much should you bet given who is in the hand, what they may hold, how good of a player they are, etc...).