Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Omaha/8
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-04-2006, 08:22 PM

Default 6-max starting hand considerations? LO8 1/2

So I recently started playing 6-max LO8 1/2 instead of FR and was wondering how to adjust my starting hand requirements. For the first couple thousand hands I was between 15%-20% of flops when not in the blinds--resulting in about a 40%-45% overall precentage. But I soon realized that if I wasn't happening to hit flops fairly often my stack would get blinded away very quickly. I would pretty much only play hands like A2xx, A3wx, AAxxss or special ones like A44Kds, QJT9ds, KK23ss when I wasn't in the blinds.

Lately I have opened up and played hands like 2357ss, 223x, QQ25ss, KQ23ds etc, and brought my off-blind percentage up to around 25%-30% (around 50% overall). I have had favorable results after maybe 500 hands, but with a lot of variance. Of course I adjust based on the player notes of others (ie "Cold calls on button with QdQs4c7s").

What should my flop% goals be in 6-max? What kinds of hands should I play if I do play more?
Old 08-04-2006, 10:01 PM

Default Re: 6-max starting hand considerations? LO8 1/2

[ QUOTE ]

Lately I have opened up and played hands like 2357ss, 223x, QQ25ss, KQ23ds etc, and brought my off-blind percentage up to around 25%-30% (around 50% overall). I have had favorable results after maybe 500 hands, but with a lot of variance. Of course I adjust based on the player notes of others (ie "Cold calls on button with QdQs4c7s").

[/ QUOTE ]

6max is more opponent dependent than FR. I started
out with good results with 45% VPIP, and then things
came crashing down fairly quickly. When the table only
plays 3-5 handed, variance catches you quite quickly.
If your opponents are tight, 45% is good, but if they
are loose aggressive and donkish, then I found that
actually lowering it down to 35-38% is a lot better,