Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > EDF
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-30-2007, 01:25 PM

Default Cost-benefit analysis of going pro, please help (VERY LONG)

Dear El D forum,

This is my first OP in your forum and I wanted to come to the Wisemen of 2p2 for help on a major life decision.

I am strongly considering become a professional poker player in the next few months. Here’s why:

Some facts:

I am 22 years old and I have been playing poker since 2005. Last year I made a little over $100,000 US playing poker 15-20 hours a week. I primarily play 10/20-30/60 limit headsup, as well as 1/2-3/6 NL 6-max and a smattering of Sunday tournaments. For those who read BBV, I also play a mean heads-up grudge match. My current online bankroll is around $25,000 US pretaxes, but I have access to about $90,000 US in liquid investments and savings accounts. Most of this money are my investments and I have been saving it for a down payment on a house or my MBA, but I can begrudgingly take it out and count it as bankroll or a rainy day fund for living expenses.

I currently work as a public opinion research consultant at a small firm making $50,000 CDN per year right out of college with 100% medical and dental benefits and 15 paid vacation days. I have been working since September 2006 at this job.

After taxes, my salary comes to about $3,000 CDN a month, $800 of which I have been saving and the rest ($2200 CDN/month) goes to rent and other expenses (nice dinners, shopping, vacations, etc).

I live with my girlfriend in downtown Toronto, who works full-time as well at a non-profit firm. We live very comfortably and happily in a rented, 750 square foot apartment in downtown Toronto.

Why Do I Want to Go Pro?