Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Poker > Other Poker Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-01-2007, 06:38 AM
BBQbowser BBQbowser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 57
Default Re: Badugi Dilemma

Reminds me a little of the concept of breaking a boat in Draw.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-01-2007, 12:36 PM
Tilt_Monkey Tilt_Monkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: Badugi Dilemma

[ QUOTE ]
In 29 of them his Badugi beats yours. (Total=90, good)

[/ QUOTE ]
I came up with 39 here - assuming that your opponent has
267 and you are both drawing to the same suit.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-01-2007, 01:00 PM
MarkGritter MarkGritter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,376
Default Re: Badugi Dilemma

Let's see... I was assuming different suits.

His badugi / your badugis that lose / running total
762A 89TJK 5
7632 89TJK 10
7642 89TJK 15
7652 89TJK 20
8762 9TJK 24
9762 TJK 27
T762 JK 29
J762 K 30
Q762 K 31
K762 none

Oops, now I ended up with 31. I don't see how to get to 39?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-01-2007, 01:19 PM
Phat Mack Phat Mack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: People\'s Republic of Texas
Posts: 2,663
Default Re: Badugi Dilemma

[ QUOTE ]
I don't see how to get to 39?

[/ QUOTE ]

Maybe you were counting the Q.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-01-2007, 01:52 PM
Tilt_Monkey Tilt_Monkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: Badugi Dilemma

[ QUOTE ]
Maybe you were counting the Q.

[/ QUOTE ]
Yes, I forgot about the Q. Duh.
Also if they were both drawing to the same suit they would both have 9 outs and the number in question would be 30
(Your last line: Q762 K 31 will be ommited)
Sorry for the confusion.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-01-2007, 02:56 PM
Tilt_Monkey Tilt_Monkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: Badugi Dilemma

[ QUOTE ]
In 9*(43-10)=297 you make another Badugi but he doesn't
In 10*(43-9)=340 he makes a Badugi and you do not
The remaining 1165 cases you win with the best 3-card hand. (Check: does this make sense? (44-9)*(43-10) = 1155, close enough... there are 10 cases missing somewhere.)

[/ QUOTE ]

I could be thinking wrong about this, but I think that this ought to be:

9(44-10)=306 (44 cards in the deck - 10 cards that will give a badugi to the villain)
10(43-9)340

So you have 1892-90-306-340=1156

And then (44-10)*(43-9)=1156

I don't think this would make much difference in the overall conclussions though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.