Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Other Topics > Business, Finance, and Investing

Old 04-17-2007, 03:51 AM

Default Newb Question - Buying a stock 101

I was wondering if anyone would mind telling me what is the easiest/cheapest way for me to purchase a specific stock, preferably online.
Old 04-17-2007, 04:20 AM

Default Re: Newb Question - Buying a stock 101

Set up an account at one of many online discount brokerages. Zecco is the cheapest; its trades are commission-free. If you don't trust the new, purely online brokerages, then you could try Scottrade. They have branches all across the US, and they charge $7 per trade. If you want a referral, PM me (we'd each get 3 free trades). SogoInvest is another cheap brokerage; it has $3 trades.
Old 04-17-2007, 05:54 AM

I've read the T&Cs and stuff in Zecco and since I'm a noob too i seem to have hard time understanding.

what sort of fees are there? surely there must be some hidden fees.
if all I want to do is buy shares in relatively big companies and sell it later on. (for example NASDAQ or FTSE stocks) what sort of feess will I be paying?

Is there fees for depositing/withdrawing money from the brokerage site?
Old 04-17-2007, 06:51 AM

gull, you should not be recommending to anyone that needs handholding, that they should setup an account at Zecco.
Old 04-17-2007, 09:46 AM

I've never used Zecco, but Scottrade is good. A brokerage account is like a bank account, except with more options about what you can do with the money you deposit. There are no fees for depositing or withdrawing. Scottrade will send you a checkbook to let you draw on your account.