Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-30-2007, 07:31 PM

Default My turn for a weightlifting/fitness thread

Yeah, I know this has been done to death in OOT, but I have very specific goals and I'm looking for personalized recommendations. Just ignore if you're sick of these threads.

Background information

I'm 6'1" and about 180 pounds at the moment. I think my weight is about right, so I'm not looking to add any. My arms and legs are longer than average.

Weightlifting history

I was extremely skinny in high school, 6'1" 135 as a senior. I had ridiculous hops and could dunk a basketball. At some point in college, I started lifting weights and added muscle. I stopped lifting for a few years, then started again in 2002 or so and got decently strong. I think I weighed 170 or so and could bench 205 max.

Current physical condition

I play basketball at a high intensity at least once a week, sometimes more. For a while I was running miles on wednesday as inspired by Alobar in the OOT Run a Mile thread, and I got down to about 6:40. In high school I ran a 4:55 mile, lol. If I had to guess, I could do 8-10 pullups and bench about 180 max right now.

Goals

As stated, I don't want to gain any bulk. If I gain "weight" due to muscle gain, that's okay, but I'm just not looking to beef up. Here are my goals:

1. Lose "gut." I'm just looking a little soft in the gut these days. I have small love handles.

2. Increase hops. I was still dunking as recently as a year and a half ago. Then I sprained my ankle badly and haven't been able to get up since. The ankle is fine; now I need to get my hops back.