Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Tournament Poker > STT Strategy
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-23-2007, 04:09 PM

Default LC: Pooh-bah post (long)

Hey 2+2, just wanted to share with your my poker background and also some useful tips for less experienced STTers. The advice I'm going to offer in this thread probably isn't valuable to anyone playing higher buyins, but it should be good for newer players. These tips have really helped my game improve over the last year.

I started playing poker about 5 years ago in friendly ultra low stakes NL games ($20 buyins). I got into limit playing 3-6 with a group of really talented individuals who normally played 20/40 and were winning players at it. Sufficed to say that I got crushed some of the time, but in general broke even or so and I learned a lot. Over the years, I've played a bunch of limit omaha hi (my fav cash game), especially on pacific about 2 years ago playing 5/10 or 10/20. Unfortunately the game is pretty much dead. Around this same time, I started playing higher buyin sngs ($60s on party). I knew pretty much nothing about sngs and while I don't have my results from the time period, I was definitely not a winning player (I rarely got 1st I know that) and at best I was a break-even player. I was way over my head and practiced pretty poor bankroll management. I would run up $200 deposits into 1k-2k playing 3-6 limit and then jump into higher games and get destroyed. The whole process was pretty disheartened and I began to learn the value of bankroll management.