Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Books and Publications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-24-2007, 08:33 PM

Default stud book for beginners

BTW, the search function for this forum isn't that great, either that or I'm an idiot. (I'm not ruling out either one).

Anyway I'm looking for a book on 7-card stud that is about the same as WLLH by Lee Jones, or SSHE is to limit hold 'em.

Thanks.
Old 07-24-2007, 08:59 PM

Default Re: stud book for beginners

If you do an Amazon.com search for 7-card stud - you'll come up with a few hits....from my experience on this forum - many favor Seven-Card Stud for Advanced Players by Sklansky, Malmuth & Zee (2+2 book) - even for lower limits.

I think a better starting point is 7-card Stud by Roy West. Flaws have been pointed out - but I think it's good for a total beginner.

The Chip Reese section in Brunson's Super/System is still relevant & is also held in high regard.

The books by Ashley Adams & Paul Kammen don't seem to have many supporters here.
Old 07-24-2007, 09:19 PM

[ QUOTE ]
If you do an Amazon.com search for 7-card stud - you'll come up with a few hits....from my experience on this forum - many favor Seven-Card Stud for Advanced Players by Sklansky, Malmuth & Zee (2+2 book) - even for lower limits.

I think a better starting point is 7-card Stud by Roy West. Flaws have been pointed out - but I think it's good for a total beginner.

The Chip Reese section in Brunson's Super/System is still relevant & is also held in high regard.

The books by Ashley Adams & Paul Kammen don't seem to have many supporters here.

[/ QUOTE ]

Spot on, tho Kammens Stud8 book (ebook) is actually not bad at all [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Old 07-24-2007, 09:19 PM

The book by Ashley Adams has around 20 pretty good reviews... just wondering if posters here do indeed not like this book.
Old 07-24-2007, 09:22 PM