Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > Limit Texas Hold'em > Small Stakes Limit
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-20-2007, 06:40 PM

Default Pooh Bah Dissertation Chapter 1: Big Pots vs Small Pots

Greetings all. For my pooh bah dissertation I will be writing about a few topics that I've learned from reading these forums the past few years. As far as I know these topics have not been presented in this format as of yet but rather are scattered throughout hand postings. These are also topics that I think are either debated often in the forums, or ones that not many people are aware of. I am by no means an expert on them, so feel free to chime in with criticisms as you see fit.

Topic 1: Big pots vs small pots.

I think a big leak that many limit players have is that they do not play differently in small pots and big pots. In a small pot (i.e. one that is 5 SB or less after preflop action), many players play they same as they do when the pot is 10 SB or greater (after preflop action).

In general, your goal in a small pot should be to win the most when ahead and the least when behind...i.e. maximize the amount of bets you win. Your goal should NOT be to always win the pot or make sure you protect your hand. Here's an example of what I consider to be good small pot play.

Situation: 10/20 live game. 8 handed.

You are dealt A[img]/images/graemlins/spade.gif[/img]5 [img]/images/graemlins/club.gif[/img] in the BB. It folds to a weak player in the CO who open limps. The button folds. A fairly aggressive and tricky player completes in the SB, and you check your option.

The flop is A [img]/images/graemlins/heart.gif[/img]3 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img]9 [img]/images/graemlins/diamond.gif[/img].