Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Beginners Questions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-18-2007, 01:40 AM

Default Some Advice Please

I'm relatively new to poker; been playing on and off for about a year. It's a game I have grown to love, but I am currently at a stalemate of sorts in my objective to become a solid player.

I lack any sort of monetary means to play online or otherwise, as I'm a Freshman in college with a very very limited budget. So my question for you guys is what can I do to improve as a poker player without playing for money?

Obviously, books are an easy option, but I don't even really have the money to buy a [censored] book.

Play money tables feel counter-productive to me. Same for most freerolls.

Any adivce you could supply me with would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Old 09-18-2007, 01:47 AM

Default Re: Some Advice Please

Post $10 in there. If you really are a solid player you should be able to grind it out no problem.
Old 09-18-2007, 01:54 AM

Agree with Peleus. Get some real money on there. $10 is enough to grind up and get going. Keep that alongside reading the books and forums/articles on 2p2.
Play some freerolls alongside this aswell. chances of winning theses are slim but downside = 0 with a chance to bolster your bankroll.

stick to strict bankroll management and you may find this $10 lasts for a very long time.

Good luck
Old 09-18-2007, 01:56 AM

Try to find a library with Getting Started in Hold em and Small Stakes Hold Em, both by Ed Miller. Deposit a few dollars at a site and grind out microstakes. Those books are a worthwhile investment even if you have to buy them, they will pay for themselves hundreds of times over.
Old 09-18-2007, 02:01 AM

He did say he has no money. Assuming that means none then $10 he may not be able to afford.

So on that basis go for freerolls. Practice can only help but I have to admit the standard is dubious in these.