Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Brick and Mortar
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-12-2007, 10:21 PM

Default Would a B&M TAG have the same VPIP as an online TAG?

I have little experience with B&M. Of course I have heard that B&M players are generally looser. But what about someone who considered themselves a TAG in B&M SSNL? If someone sat next to them with Pokertracker, what would their numbers be after a large enough sample? Would it still be in the neighborhood of 14/7? Or are even the TAGs a little looser in B&M simply because they don't see as many hands and need to play ones that are a bit weaker?
Old 09-12-2007, 11:55 PM

Default Re: Would a B&M TAG have the same VPIP as an online TAG?

No answers because it is a stupid or obvious question? Show me some love here.
Old 09-13-2007, 12:02 AM

It's an obvious question.

The looser the table, the larger the average pot. The larger the average pot, the wider the range of starting hands that can be played for one bet.

In general, the SSHE recommendations for tight games are a good guide online. The recommendations for loose games are a good guide in a B&M.
Old 09-13-2007, 01:20 AM

Live players at SSNL are beyond retarded, I am one of them. I will reguarly raise to 40xBB with XX, how can you play against that?

I'd imagine you would take my money, like all the others...

[img]/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] [img]/images/graemlins/crazy.gif[/img] [img]/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]

JT
Old 09-13-2007, 03:31 AM

VPIP, I'd say yes.

I probably have a slighty higher VPIP live becuase I get bored, but that's a leak not strategy. With the larger number of short stacks (CA games) and the generally wild play its in your interest to tighten up a lot.