Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > General Poker Discussion > Poker Beats, Brags, and Variance
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-25-2007, 11:00 AM

Default The Mental Game - Dealing with variance

Hullo all,

I must tell you I might not be cut out for this poker thing. I have played since 1980 on and off for extended periods since college. I hated the variance in Blackjack as a counter and the "grind" trying to eek out with a small edge as a counter. Looking for better odds, I threw myself into poker.
I wasn't a winning player for a while as I learned, but with practice and relentless study of my results and histories have become a lifetime winning player.
As 1997 comes to a close this year has been by no means a bad one. Across all cash games I played 208 sessions so far and have 128 Winning sessions for a (61.54%) winning ratio and positive gain of $4,353. I am not a pro player just someone who loved to play and enjoyed the extra cash that it brought in.
I have enjoyed some success in tournaments as well, am a winning sit-n-go player online and have won a seat in the WPT before with a 10K prize package. I have not re-loaded any of my online accounts beyond an initial buy in in the last 6 years.
As you can see, my results are not bad at all. I have no reason to quit this game. Some of you probably think I am crazy, and frankly I think I am pretty F'Ked in the head too...My problem is this, the reason I quit blackjack , the reason I feel [censored] right now, is just :

[img]/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img] I hate, I mean I really HATE losing sessions