Two Plus Two Newer Archives  

Go Back   Two Plus Two Newer Archives > 2+2 Communities > Other Other Topics
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-26-2006, 10:02 PM

Default ADHD and late diagnosis

I am just wondering if anyone has any experiences with ADHD that was not diagnosed as a child. Is it possible that if the person is bright enough that they could have their own coping mechanisms (multi tasking, etc) that they would do decent enough throughout school?
Old 06-26-2006, 10:19 PM

Default Re: ADHD and late diagnosis

If so, I'm getting a prescription to Adderall
Old 06-26-2006, 10:24 PM

I was diagnosed with pretty severe ADHD as a child but refused to take the medicine for years. When I was a C student retard in high school, I finally agreed to try it again and it pretty much totally turned my life around.

In my opinion, if you really are ADHD bad like me, it's hard to find ways around it.

Honestly, when I'm unmedicated now I feel pretty similar to how I feel after power hour.
Old 06-26-2006, 10:24 PM

21-22 years old.

i think it's BS and we all have a bit of ADHD in us. but i had exibited the symptoms for a while, and was pretty much "coping"
Old 06-26-2006, 10:26 PM

[ QUOTE ]
21-22 years old.

i think it's BS and we all have a bit of ADHD in us. but i had exibited the symptoms for a while, and was pretty much "coping"

[/ QUOTE ]

i also self medicate, and hate taking those stupid pills. also, i need to be doing work now, but can't focus and am browsing 2+2 instead. something to be said about that...
Old 06-27-2006, 01:09 AM

Hmm, I am interested because a buddy of mine just got told that they think he has a mild case of ADHD. He is 25 and I thought that was a little late and it would be pretty difficult to go so long without incident. But he is pretty bright and thinks that he may have just coped by doing multiple things at the same time to keep himself productive.
Old 06-27-2006, 03:51 AM

Disclaimer - I'm not an expert in ADHD.